Why was I charged for a free trial?
Some HBO Max subscriptions and promotional offers include a free trial period. Here are a few reasons you could see a charge after starting a subscription:
- Offer doesn't include a free trial. If your subscription or promotional offer doesn't include a free trial, you'll be charged for HBO Max when you sign up.
- Not eligible for a free trial. If your subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, the eligibility criteria is mentioned when you sign up. For example, some promotional offers are only available to new HBO Max subscribers. If you think you were incorrectly billed, reach out to your billing provider for help (see Who's billing me below).
- Authorization hold. If you see a pending charge on your payment method after starting a free trial, it's likely an authorization hold (see What's an authorization hold below).
To find out who's billing you:
- Open HBO Max or sign in to HBOMax.com on your computer. Can't sign in?
Note If you subscribe to the Mobile plan, open HBO Max on your phone or tablet.
- Do one of the following:
- Phone or tablet: Tap the Profile icon (bottom edge on phones, left edge on tablets), and then the Settings icon (upper left). Choose Subscription.
- TV device: Choose the Settings icon (lower left) and then choose Account.
- Computer: Choose your profile (upper right), then choose Subscription.
Subscription information is only available with Adult profiles.
- Here you can see who your subscription is billed through.
Other ways to find your billing provider
- HBOMax.com/account: Go to HBOMax.com/account and sign in to your account.
- Bank statement: Review your bank statement for an HBO Max subscription charge. (If your subscription is part of a TV package or wireless plan, you may not see an individual charge for HBO Max.)
What's an authorization hold?
If your billing provider offers a free trial, then your provider may verify your payment method by placing an authorization hold on your card (the amount varies by provider). This is done to make sure your payment method is valid and can be successfully charged in the future (once your free trial is over).
This authorization hold is temporary and should be removed within 7-10 days (the time it takes to remove an authorization hold varies by financial institution). The authorization hold is not a charge, but may affect your available balance. You can contact your financial institution to find out when the authorization hold will be removed, and when the hold amount will be added back to your available balance.