Why was I charged for a free trial?

Some HBO Max providers offer a 7-day free trial for new HBO Max subscribers. Here are a couple reasons you could see a charge after starting a free trial:

  • Not eligible for a free trial. Only new HBO Max subscribers are eligible for a free trial. If you're a new HBO Max subscriber and think you were incorrectly billed, reach out to your billing provider for help (see 'Who's billing me' below).
  • Authorization hold. If you see a pending charge on your payment method after starting a free trial, it's likely an authorization hold (see Authorization hold section below).
Who's billing me?
To find out who's billing you, do any of the following:
  • Phone or tablet: Open the HBO Max app on your phone or tablet. Tap the Profile icon, then the Settings icon (upper-left), and then Billing Information.
  • Computer: Go to HBOMax.com and sign in (if needed). Then, choose the Profile icon (upper-right) and Billing Information.
  • HBOMax.com/account: Go to HBOMax.com/account and sign in to your HBO Max account (this won't work if you sign in to HBO Max through a provider).
  • Bank statement: Review your bank statement for an HBO Max subscription charge. (If your subscription is part of a TV package or wireless plan, you won't see an individual charge for HBO Max.)

What is an authorization hold?

When you sign up and start your free trial, the provider that you sign up through verifies your payment method by placing an authorization hold on your card (the amount varies by provider: $14.99, $1, or $0.01). This is done to make sure your payment method is valid and can be successfully charged in the future (once your free trial is over).

This authorization hold is temporary and should be removed within 7-10 days (the time it takes to remove an authorization hold varies by financial institution). The authorization hold is not a charge, but may affect your available balance. You can contact your financial institution to find out when the authorization hold will be removed, and when the hold amount will be added back to your available balance.