HBO Max free trial Q&A

Frequently asked questions and answers:

Is there a free trial?

Most HBO Max providers no longer offer a free trial to new subscribers. If a subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, you'll see mention of the free trial when you sign up.

During a free trial, you can stream anything on HBO Max. If you enjoy HBO Max, do nothing and your subscription will auto-renew each billing period until you cancel it.

Who qualifies for a free trial?

If a subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, the eligibility criteria is mentioned when you sign up. For example, some promotional offers are only available to new HBO Max subscribers.

If you think you were incorrectly billed, reach out to your billing provider for help (see Who's billing me? below).

How long is the trial?

If a subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, the trial length is mentioned when you sign up.

When and how will I be charged?

When you start your free trial, you need to add a payment method so your subscription can continue after your trial ends. Your first charge will be the day before your free trial is over (this varies depending on your billing provider).

After your free trial, your subscription will automatically renew each billing period until you cancel it. To avoid being charged for your next billing period, you need to cancel at least 24 hours before your next billing date.

Have questions? See our Billing Q&A.

Why was I charged for a free trial?

If you see a charge after starting a free trial here are a few possible reasons:

  • Offer doesn't include a free trial.  If your subscription or promotional offer doesn't include a free trial, you'll be charged for HBO Max when you sign up.
  • Not eligible for a free trial.  If your subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, the eligibility criteria is mentioned when you sign up. For example, some promotional offers are only available to new HBO Max subscribers. If you think you were incorrectly billed, reach out to your billing provider for help (see Who's billing me? below).
  • Authorization hold.  The pending charge is likely an authorization hold. An authorization hold is done to make sure your payment method is valid and can be successfully charged in the future (once your free trial is over).

    An authorization hold is temporary and should be removed within 7-10 days (the time varies by financial institution). The authorization hold is not a charge, but may affect your available balance. You can contact your financial institution to find out when the authorization hold will be removed, and when the hold amount will be added back to your available balance.

Who's billing me?

To find out who's billing you:

  • Phone or tablet: Open the HBO Max app, then tap the Profile icon (bottom edge on phones, left edge on tablets). Then, tap the Settings icon (upper left), and then Subscription.
  • Computer: Go to HBOMax.com and sign in (if needed). Then, choose your profile icon (upper right) and then Subscription.
  • Xbox: Choose your profile (upper left) and then choose Account.
  • Other TV device: Open the HBO Max app, choose your profile (upper left), and then choose Account.
  • Web: Sign in at HBOMax.com/account.
  • Your bank statement: Review your statement for an HBO Max subscription charge. (If your subscription is part of a TV package or mobile plan, you won't see an individual charge for HBO Max.)

Have questions? See our Billing Q&A.

How do I cancel my trial?

To avoid being charged for your next billing period, you need to cancel your subscription the day before your free trial ends. If you cancel early, you can continue streaming until your trial ends.

Other questions?