Why was I charged for a free trial?

Some HBO Max subscriptions and promotional offers include a free trial period. Here are a few reasons you could see a charge after starting a subscription:

  • Offer doesn't include a free trial. If your subscription or promotional offer doesn't include a free trial, you'll be charged for HBO Max when you sign up.
  • Not eligible for a free trial. If your subscription or promotional offer includes a free trial, the eligibility criteria is mentioned when you sign up. For example, some promotional offers are only available to new HBO Max subscribers. If you think you were incorrectly billed, reach out to your billing provider for help (see Who's billing me below).
  • Authorization hold. If you see a pending charge on your payment method after starting a free trial, it's likely an authorization hold (see What's an authorization hold below).
Who's billing me?
To find out who's billing you:
  1. Do one of the following:
    • Phone or tablet: Open the HBO Max app, then tap the Profile icon (bottom edge on phones, left edge on tablets). Then, tap the Settings icon (upper left), and then Subscription.
    • Roku: Choose the Settings icon (lower left) and then choose Account.
    • Other TV device: Choose your profile (upper left) and then choose Account.
    • Computer: Go to HBOMax.com and sign in (if needed). Then, choose your profile icon (upper right) and then Subscription.
    • HBOMax.com/account: Go to HBOMax.com/account and sign in to your HBO Max account. Can't sign in?
  2. Here you can see who your subscription is billed through.

What's an authorization hold?

If your billing provider offers a free trial, then your provider may verify your payment method by placing an authorization hold on your card (the amount varies by provider). This is done to make sure your payment method is valid and can be successfully charged in the future (once your free trial is over).

This authorization hold is temporary and should be removed within 7-10 days (the time it takes to remove an authorization hold varies by financial institution). The authorization hold is not a charge, but may affect your available balance. You can contact your financial institution to find out when the authorization hold will be removed, and when the hold amount will be added back to your available balance.