Why was I charged after I canceled?

If you see a subscription charge after you cancel your HBO Max subscription, it may be because…

You canceled just before your auto-renewal date

You may have canceled your subscription less than 24 hours before the end of your free trial or your next monthly billing date. Some providers will charge you 1 or 2 days before your next billing cycle starts (the timing of this charge varies by billing provider).

Important
If you see a subscription charge after cancelling your subscription, make sure your subscription is canceled (see the next section).

Your subscription is still active

If you see a subscription charge after cancelling, your subscription might still be active. Check to see if your subscription has an expiration date and/or a canceled status.

To check the status of your subscription, find your billing provider below:

  • Apple: Follow Apple's cancellation steps. If your HBO Max subscription has been canceled, there will be a subscription end date (and there won't be a cancel option).
  • Google Play: Go to Google's Subscriptions page and sign in to the Google account with your HBO Max subscription. If your subscription has been canceled, there will be an option to Restart or Renew. See also: Google's cancellation steps.
  • Hulu: Sign in to your Hulu account at hulu.com/account and see if the HBO Max Add-on is listed under Your Subscription. Also, choose View Charges to see upcoming charges. If HBO Max hasn't been cancelled, follow Hulu's cancellation steps.
  • Samsung: Sign in to your Samsung account at payon.tv and then from the Purchase History menu, choose Subscriptions. Find HBO Max and choose Unsubscribe (if available). See also: Samsung's cancellation steps.
  • YouTube TV: Sign in to your YouTube TV account at tv.youtube.com. Choose your profile picture, then Settings and Membership. Choose the checkmark next to HBO Max (if available), and then choose Agree.
  • WarnerMedia Direct, LLC: Open HBO Max on your phone, tablet or computer. Go to your Profile, choose Billing Information and then Manage Subscription. If your subscription has been cancelled, but hasn't expired you'll see the option to resume your subscription (and if your subscription has expired, you'll see the option to renew). Need help? See Manage WarnerMedia subscription.
  • TV or mobile provider: Sign in to your TV or mobile provider account to check the status of your HBO Max subscription. If you need help doing this, contact your provider.

If you're not sure who your billing provider is (or they aren't listed above), please see 'Who's billing me' on the Billing Q&A page. Once you know your billing provider, choose them on the How to cancel page.

Note
Some billing providers send you an email when you cancel a subscription. Check your inbox for an email confirming the cancellation of your HBO Max subscription.

You have more than one subscription

You might have multiple HBO Max accounts.

To find multiple accounts...

To see if you have more than one account, open HBO Max on each device that you use and do the following:

  • Phone or tablet: Open the HBO Max app, tap the Profile icon, and then the Settings icon (upper-left). Tap Account and take note of your account email address
  • Computer: Go to HBOMax.com on your computer. In the upper-right corner, choose the Profile icon and then choose Account. Here you can see your account email address.
  • TV: Open the HBO Max app, choose the Profile icon, and then scroll over to Sign Out. Here you can see your account email address or which provider you're signed in through.

Signed in with multiple email addresses?

If you find more than one email address, then you have multiple HBO Max accounts. To fix this, for each account go to Billing Information to find out who's billing you (see the Billing Q&A).

Once you know who's billing you, you can decide which subscription you want to cancel (see How do I cancel?).